I was a former beauty queen.

So, I was a beauty queen.

I was a former Ms Australia.

A former Ms Gay Australia to be precise.

I can still vividly remember it. It was almost 1 am at Yarraville Club, Melbourne  2011. In my resplendent red, glittery fish tail gown and bright Lady Danger from MAC, I sashayed down the catwalk, my left hand elegantly balancing the tiara so that it would not fall off my head (that would be embarrassing). The other hand tightly grasping the heavy, clear plaque inscribed with the words ‘MS GAY AUSTRALIA 2011 – WINNER’. My middle finger on the same hand tightly clasping the few stems from the complimentary bouquet. I smiled from one chandelier earring to another, making eyes at the blinding flashes. I didn’t know who were behind the flashes – it didn’t matter, it was my time to shine. Suddenly, it dawned on me that I was wearing a pair of black heels which didn’t match my gown. But, I didn’t care and smiled away anyway until my cheeks grew tired and the flashes subsided. Then, quietly I made my way to the dressing room, packed my weaves (I had 3 weave changes), my costumes that were strewn on the floor and my gold ZU heels that was meant to go with the red gown. I said my goodbyes and air-cheek-kissed the other contestants and headed to my hotel room.

To be honest, I wasn’t 100% shocked that I had won. I knew that if I had prepared and performed well, I would stand a good chance – just like any other contestant. The win, I reckon, was also because I have always been competitive and always try to excel in whatever I do. I won 3 out of the 5 subsidiary awards too – the most treasured was Best in Talent. When the emcee called out my name for the win, I convincingly feigned the ‘beauty-queen surprise’ – one hand placed on the chest, the other covered the agaped mouth, eyes opened wide and head shook from left-to-right but not too intensely.

After the whirlwind win, back in Brisbane, I received some flak from a couple of queens. Of course they were hurtful. And of course, I was affected. A few days after, I chose not to listen to nor dwell in the negativity. I had worked hard for the title and to win the monsta of a tiara, goddamit! And no one can put me down for the little achievements that I’ve made for myself.

This year, my successor is Martini Ice from the Gold Coast. I was ecstatic to hear that a sista from Queensland had won the title. I know Martini, not too well, but enough to know she is deserving of the win. Her heart is as big as her bossom. A beautiful person and an amazeball of a performer. I wish her all the best and that her journey will be as fulfilling and enriching as mine.

xxxChinta

Standard

Leave a comment